Discussion

by mmcgrat4

First off, it is obvious that the virtues and ethics of discourse are important in any setting. Traits like honesty and humility are obviously positive qualities in an individual, and it is important to keep these values firmly in mind at all times. Therefore, instead of learning rhetorical ethics and virtues for use in this class, I see rhetoric as an example of why such virtues are important. I personally see accountability as the most pervasive virtue in this course, as every statement written or spoken has been required to have evidential support. Humility is also a grossly important virtue in this course, especially in class discussions, when you sometimes must be forced to change your views in light of a convincing argument. One virtue I struggled with this semester was judgement. I had one absence this semester where I decided to just not attend because I hadn’t finished a draft of my paper and it was peer review day, so I slept instead. Bad judgment, right? Another virtue that I sometimes failed to implement was generosity. Although I believe I am humble in accepting when someone else is right and I am wrong, I sometimes have trouble allowing that person to make their point. I have a habit of talking over people and interrupting ideas when I should be more considerate of others, which doesn’t exemplify the trait of generosity. Although knowledge was connected to the meme project slightly, I believe the much greater use of knowledge in this course was knowledge of rhetorical devices and virtues, which was more exemplified in the rhetorical analysis essay. However, I believe that the rhetorical analysis essay was the best use of many virtues in the class, and represented a sort of pinnacle of rhetoric use in the class. Honesty is probably best embodied in this portfolio, because of the heavy amount of reflection and consideration into the past assignments and material in the course. Overall, I believe this course succeeded in indirectly teaching the virtues of rhetoric, but failed in explicitly teaching them. This may be by design, as an indirect knowledge of the virtues is sufficient for practicing them. However, I do not believe it is sufficient for studying how rhetorical virtues are used in class, and that it would be more beneficial to explicitly discuss how these virtues are used during the semester.

